Wisdom from Wonderland revisited

Last summer, my son and I backpacked fifty miles of the Wonderland Trail.  The Wonderland is a spectacular trail that circumnavigates the base of Mt Rainier.  Over its ninety-three miles, the trail rises over 22,000 feet, and travels through lowland old growth forests to subalpine meadows ablaze with wildflowers.  It was especially meaningful for me to see the many faces of Rainier because my son climbed to the summit of the mountain two years earlier.

The beauty I saw on the Wonderland elicited thoughts about growth, life and community that I shared in a series of Facebook posts.

Over my next few blogs, I will revisit those images and thoughts in a series I call “Wisdom from Wonderland.”  Hope you like it!

About chris breuninger

I love life, my family, and Jesus. I enjoy live music, rigorous exercise, thoughtful movies, and strong coffee. I study scripture, wine, and people. I get frustrated with narrow minds, Christian stereotypes, and gardening. My vocation is pastor, but I’m hesitant to admit that, and I’m happy when people are surprised by that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Wisdom from Wonderland revisited

  1. Doug Richardson says:

    Chris, I seriously enjoyed the unintended humor of a “spectacular trial” and “tails rising over 22,000 feet”! I thought how neutralizing to consider any trial as “spectacular”. I’m going to add this to my arsenal of responses for my next trial (which who knows I may even be in currently). This seems to support James’ view of trails…I mean tails…of trials:)

    • Yikes! That’s what happens when I’m on the run and I’m the one proofing!

    • Joan Davis says:

      Doug – I had to smile at your observation! What you pointed out reminded me of one of my favorite quotations and a valuable lesson learned in my own life:
      “The greater the trial, the sweeter the victory.” George Mueller
      Maybe it wasn’t a type-o afterall? 🙂

      Chris – I’m looking forward to hearing more… Oh, and P.S. LOVED the message yesterday!

      Blessings, Joan

Comments are closed.