Wisdom from Wonderland #1: Deep Roots

Walking the Wonderland Trail, one finds high alpine trees like the one in this picture I took last summer.  The trunk is bent, the needles are stiff and strong, and the roots are deep.  Exposure to the elements slows the growth and causes the roots to run deep.

Exposure to the elements, pressure, trials and tribulations has a similar effect on our lives.  How many times have you heard someone who has experienced hardship say: “I would never want to go through that again, but I grew in new ways because of it.”

It’s been said that God is more interested in our character than our happiness.  What element is God using to generate new growth and deeper roots in your life?

About chris breuninger

I love life, my family, and Jesus. I enjoy live music, rigorous exercise, thoughtful movies, and strong coffee. I study scripture, wine, and people. I get frustrated with narrow minds, Christian stereotypes, and gardening. My vocation is pastor, but I’m hesitant to admit that, and I’m happy when people are surprised by that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Wisdom from Wonderland #1: Deep Roots

  1. Doug Richardson says:

    Nature is God’s cathedral full of beautiful portals into the richness of His love and purposes toward us. A walk down the aisle of his outdoor sanctuary reveals window after window of stories of his glory…and then more glory…and yet even more glory…all speaking of him, our gracious creator, Father and King. The other day I saw a baby bobcat scurry across the way. I guess I wasn’t the only one who ran in “God’s house” as a child. I think he enjoyed it…I know I did!

Comments are closed.