An Inside Look into my Upcoming Series

encountersThis Sunday I begin a new series of messages called Encounters. What goes on inside my mind and heart when I choose a direction for a message series?

This series arose out of the series I just completed, called Staying in Love. Throughout that series, I had this nagging notion that our difficulty in receiving love, being loved and staying in love often stemmed from the lies we assimilated from family or society that confine our identity, and therefore our ability to love and be loved.

For instance, it’s difficult to “expect the best” and not “assume the worse” if your internal tape is stuck on a lie that repeats “you are not worthy.”

When Jesus encountered hurting, marginalized people eye-to-eye, their world was turned upside-down. His radical graciousness, his deeply personal challenge and his compelling invitation transformed how they saw God, themselves and others.

One of the greatest challenges of the Christian faith is knowing our identity in Christ and growing into it. This series will address that great challenge. We will see how an encounter with God’s transforming grace in Jesus frees us from the lies that confine us. We will seek to overcome those lies by reclaiming our identity as beloved by God in Christ. And we’ll be challenged to consider how our encounters with others can be more gracious, personal and compelling—more like Jesus.

If you’re in town, I invite you to drop by Redwood Covenant, Sundays at 9:30 or 11:11.  If you are out of town, you can always dial in at http://www.redwoodcovenant.org/sermons.html

About chris breuninger

I love life, my family, and Jesus. I enjoy live music, rigorous exercise, thoughtful movies, and strong coffee. I study scripture, wine, and people. I get frustrated with narrow minds, Christian stereotypes, and gardening. My vocation is pastor, but I’m hesitant to admit that, and I’m happy when people are surprised by that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.