Why faith gets dull

Image

I recently backpacked the Resurrection Pass in Alaska with some good friends.   Most of the time on the trail, my head was looking down at the trail in front of my feet, so that I didn’t trip on a root, twist my ankle on a rut or fall because of a loose stone.  Occasionally, I would stop and lift my head to take in the vistas, and each time I took time to see, the majestic beauty of mountains took my breath away.

Looking down to see so you don’t trip is not just a posture many take in life.  On the walk of faith, we often walk with our head down, our eyes set on the path just in front of us.   But as I was reminded on the trail, our eyes were made to see much more.

I’ve been preparing for a new message series called “Amplify” which will explore the worship scenes in the book of Revelation.  That preparation is prompting me to look up.

Revelation is an enigmatic book for a lot of Christians.  Some treat it like a time-line for end-time events.  Others avoid it because it seems so weird.  I happen to believe that it’s a neglected book that opens our eyes to Christ’s heightened rule and encourages our walk of faith by expanding our vision of God.

The book of Revelation encourages us to see that God is bigger than our mind and our feelings, our experiences or our challenges.  Full of hope, Revelation trains our gaze toward the resurrected Christ who rules above all other powers.  Written to a persecuted church, it offers profound encouragement to trust God for the challenges that are bigger than our ability to manage or control.  Revelation challenges us to walk in faith and to stay faithful, no matter what may come.

Too often our faith grows dull because our vision of the greatness of God gets drowned out by competing voices or grows dull through routine.  It happens.  And when it does, the best we can do is stop, lift our head, and seek to see a renewed vision of the wonder of God.

About chris breuninger

I love life, my family, and Jesus. I enjoy live music, rigorous exercise, thoughtful movies, and strong coffee. I study scripture, wine, and people. I get frustrated with narrow minds, Christian stereotypes, and gardening. My vocation is pastor, but I’m hesitant to admit that, and I’m happy when people are surprised by that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.