Why am I doing this?

This weekend I will attempt to run the Tough Mudder at Lake Tahoe.  The TM is a half-marathon with twenty or so obstacles like this…

Image

I used to be able to hang and swing at recess, but I think I might be swimming on this one.

Here’s another obstacle with live electrical wires…Image

I hate getting shocked.  That one scares me.

And there’s more, like this plunge into ice-cold water…

Image

Those are real ice cubes.  Do they look like they are having fun?  They look like their heart just stopped.

I was the guy at the lake who waded into the water.  There no way to wade into this container because the people who designed this (British Special Forces) know that you would never go in if you had the chance to wade in.  And besides, they’re Special Forces, so “wading” is not in their vocabulary.

Did I mention that I have a fear of heights?

Image

And that’s just the beginning!   I’ll be climbing over walls and fences…

Image

…. and sloshing around in mud…

Image

…and hanging upside-down…

Image

… and running through fire…

Image

Did I mention that this event is run at altitude?  We begin at 8,000 feet and there’s a two thousand foot elevation gain.

What am I thinking?  Why did I sign up for this?

One day our family was talking about doing another adventure together.  We prefer adventures to vacations.  Anyway, someone mentioned the Tough Mudder.  Without looking into it, we committed to doing it together.  We should have looked into it first.

I’m told that the TM is not about nailing a personal best time, but about helping others and being helped.  That’s good.   I’m going to need help.   Maybe I’ll just clip a harness onto my son and let him pull me up, over and through the course.

Why am I doing this?  I bet each member of family is asking the same question.

At least we’re doing it together.

About chris breuninger

I love life, my family, and Jesus. I enjoy live music, rigorous exercise, thoughtful movies, and strong coffee. I study scripture, wine, and people. I get frustrated with narrow minds, Christian stereotypes, and gardening. My vocation is pastor, but I’m hesitant to admit that, and I’m happy when people are surprised by that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Why am I doing this?

  1. Joan says:

    Praying for you! lol!! (Can’t wait to read your follow up post!!!)

  2. monica bernhard says:

    ………just a thought……you’re all nuts! Have fun on this crazy adventure,
    and think of the stories for the grandkids

  3. Carla Trulson-Essenberg says:

    I think this is terrific! I’m proud of you for even considering this. Will be awaiting all the “dirty” details.

Comments are closed.