Worship, part 1

ImageWorship is more than a song or a style or what the church does on Sunday.  Worship is a lifestyle.  And it’s the heartbeat of the church. The heart that beats in the community of the redeemed is a heart to know and to love God, 24/7.

Worship is at the core of the nature and the purpose of the church.  We are redeemed for worship (Exodus 20:2-3 and 1 Peter 2:9).  We are empowered by the Sprit for worship (John 4:23).  We are called to make worship our lifestyle (Romans 12:1).  We are created know and to love God forever, and worship is the way we express that life here and now.

Worship is also highly contentious.  Just about everyone has their opinion about what they like or don’t like about worship.  But worship is not foremost about what we like—it’s about God.  It’s about a community of people responding to God through adoration, praise, thanksgiving, lament, intercession, confession, repentance, trust, belief and more.  We respond to what God has done, and to what he is doing, and to what he promises to do.  That life is called worship.

In my next few blogs I hope to carry forward a conversation about worship that recently emerged at the church I serve, Redwood Covenant Church, as we sought to discern the values and vision that would guide us into a new chapter of worship.

My hope is that you will enter the conversation and that our conversation would rise above  personal preference toward a vision for worship that is biblically faithful, culturally relevant, and responsive to the mission and vision of the church.

About chris breuninger

I love life, my family, and Jesus. I enjoy live music, rigorous exercise, thoughtful movies, and strong coffee. I study scripture, wine, and people. I get frustrated with narrow minds, Christian stereotypes, and gardening. My vocation is pastor, but I’m hesitant to admit that, and I’m happy when people are surprised by that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Worship, part 1

  1. chris says:

    read “dangerous act of worship” by mark labberton. This will challenge the church on the subject of worship.

  2. Brenden Smith says:

    Looking forward to eavesdropping on this conversation.

Comments are closed.