What my migration from Windows to Apple is teaching me about faith.

I recently moved away from a world I’ve known for over two decades. I migrated from the world of Windows, into the world of Apple.

I migrated because I literally moved from the Seattle-Redmond area to N. Cal, which is like moving from the land that Bill G built, into the world that Steve J built.

I migrated partly out of frustration with Microsoft products, and partly out of admiration for the iPods I have enjoyed, and partly to follow the Apostle Paul’s adage to “be all things to all people.”

My migration has prompted a couple of thoughts about operating systems and my Christian faith….

Simplicity is not Simple

Following Jesus is simple.  Following Jesus is hard.  Most churches tend to get around this reality by adding layer upon layer of disconnected programing, kind of like Windows.

Windows is great for Geeks who like a lot of options and tweaks, but each option is like a one more pound of weight on a fat elephant.

And how about those updates and the systems crashes!  If I had a Twinkie for every Microsoft update or crash, then I’d be sick of Twinkies.  And I am sick of Twinkies.

Thom Rainer, in his excellent book, Simple Church, observes that Churches tend to make church-life complicated, on one hand, and churches tend to lower the bar of discipleship, on the other hand.  It’s time, he says, to raise the bar of discipleship and make church simpler.   Yes!

At Redwood, we’re moving into a more simple mode by focusing on three things: discipleship, mission and fellowship.  And yes: it’s simple and it’s hard.

Aesthetics Matter

Worship of God is not done just with the ear-gate, but also involves the eye-gate.  Christians in the sacramental traditions have known this for centuries.  Those in the evangelical tradition lean toward word-heavy worship, and we could learn a few things from Apple about creating aesthetically pleasing environments.

The world that Steve built is fun and cool, and intuitive.  And now this environment seamlessly links across my iPhone, iPad, and MacBook.  This functionality isn’t much beyond what RMS or Google have offered for years.  For sure, Apple is later, but it’s way cooler.

Caveat: Sometimes faith is not cool.  Sometimes it’s hard, messy, even bloody.  But beyond the cross lies an open grave that opens an operating system not of bits and bytes, but of love and life.

That’s the world Jesus built.   And it’s still being built.

About chris breuninger

I love life, my family, and Jesus. I enjoy live music, rigorous exercise, thoughtful movies, and strong coffee. I study scripture, wine, and people. I get frustrated with narrow minds, Christian stereotypes, and gardening. My vocation is pastor, but I’m hesitant to admit that, and I’m happy when people are surprised by that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to What my migration from Windows to Apple is teaching me about faith.

  1. Ahh to be simple yet excellent! Love it Chris. Miss you guys too. Have a blessed 2012.

  2. Jane Bailey says:

    I bet all the gadget guys are happy to hear this!! Missed you last week! Dan F. was spot-on! Love the theme of “Aboundin'” Definitely my own personal theme – joy, thanks, simplicity! Happy 1 yr. anniv.! P.S. The Fresno chilis are HOT, so be careful! But yummy in moderation, or in salsa, or in an omelet!

  3. I like this! and Thank You 🙂

  4. Just last night I made my Apple collection complete with an iPad. Truely awesome. But of course, you’re talking about faith, aren’t you? I was evangelized by a true Apple evangelist many years ago and have now become an evangelist myself. I’ve been discipled! Nice post Chris. I hope we can connect at Midwinter.

  5. Craig Fraser says:

    “Worship of God is not done just with the ear-gate, but also involves the eye-gate”
    Peace be still and know I am God. There was a stone engraved with this in a field that I sat and prayed with eyes shut for hours daily one month in my early twenties ( I listened without asking or thinking =peace & stillness). After searching the worlds religions on a 60 country solo walk about, the type of worship I found at the end of the road, left the eyes behind as they often distracted and drew my gaze away from God to a worlds interpretation or construct of God trading a vicarious experiance for an authentic one.
    Where does silence now fit in a techno world of distraction and multi connected, 24 hour accessible, filled with agendas of disinformation and red-herrings that misfocus our desire and longing to know God?
    Do we not choose idols of worship based on how we allot our time? Can quiet prayer once again permeiate the very fabric of our lives as it did in ancient times? What is the cost if it does not? Ears, Eyes, and Heart of Prayer.
    Sincerely
    concerned

Comments are closed.