Why I quit watching the X-Factor

My wife and I like watching reality TV music shows.  I know.  It’s a guilty pleasure.  But I like watching the talent of people sharpen through the season.  And I like the learning about the humble backgrounds of the singers stories.  And I even like the entertainment of the competition.

And that’s why I won’t be watching any more episodes of X-Factor.

On the X-Factor, each judges grooms a contestant.  This dual role of producer and judge creates an inherent tension between the judges ,who prop up their protégé and dis the other judge’s choice of choreography, song choice, etc.  It’s a weird dynamic that leaves the singer in the middle of the judges and their many arrogant justifications.

I like it when people build-up people.  I don’t like people being used or torn-down.  X factor uses people, not only for big corporation, but also for the big egos of the judges.  And that’s just wrong.  Ego should not be the power that votes people off the island.

In what should be a stark contrast, The Church seeks to be a counter-culture of people being built up, not torn down or voted off the island.  And, fortunately, the talents of the least are often most esteemed by God.  And even more, the only judge is the one who welcomes all, and binds all together by their relationship to himself and God.

In Greek, the first letter of Christ is X.  Now there’s the real X-factor.

About chris breuninger

I love life, my family, and Jesus. I enjoy live music, rigorous exercise, thoughtful movies, and strong coffee. I study scripture, wine, and people. I get frustrated with narrow minds, Christian stereotypes, and gardening. My vocation is pastor, but I’m hesitant to admit that, and I’m happy when people are surprised by that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Why I quit watching the X-Factor

  1. Vonnie Lee says:

    Thanks, Chris. Well spoken. I watched the program once, and that was enough. I would like to think that most of these “reality” shows are poor representations of what is real for the majority of people in this world.
    Merry Xmas!
    Vonnie Lee

  2. Cathi Cari-Shudde says:

    Just this morning had a conversation with someone at work about having people, activities, and reminders in our lives of who we want to be, and who we are in the eyes of God. Over the last few years, more and more, the activities and things in my life that don’t support those two have been reevaluated and if necessary stepped away from. In their place, are more people, activities and reminders of where I’m headed and support to get there.
    At my desk at work, is a ceramic post card from God telling me that he loves me because its his nature to love. He delights in loving me, he thinks about me many times a day (countless) and that I am his! Each time I read it, my heart is blessed with the reminder and it helps me be a little bit like him to others I encounter at work and in my life.
    I’ve stopped watching some channels and shows, reading types of books, having types of conversations, etc. because they don’t reflect who I want to be and how God loves me.
    There are so many little things in life that can effect the way we think and feel about ourselves and others.

  3. Laura says:

    AMEN!

Comments are closed.