More than Hype

On Sunday, Redwood Covenant Church launches a new season of ministry with a “Kick-Off Sunday”.  It will be festive, fun, inspirational and informative.

And it will be much, much more than mere hype.

I’m skeptical about hype.  Hype breeds dissatisfaction by encouraging a quivering desire for the “next thing.”   And the relentless pursuit of the “next thing” tends to breed either a spiritual attention deficit disorder or a hardened cynicism.  Neither course is very attractive.

So why is Redwood launching a “kick-off”? 

We do this because churches–like our lives–go and grow through seasons.   The Redwood Kick-Off is recognition that God is growing us into a new season of life, ministry and mission.

When my kids return home from college, I sometimes revert to treating them like they were before they left.  It’s like I’ve frozen them in a suspended animation and projected that onto the present.  I forget that they have changed, and so have I.

Just as we tend to freeze the past, so do we forget that God is always doing a new thing, just as the prophet Isaiah announced…

See, I am doing a new thing! 
   

         Now it springs up; do you not perceive it? 


I am making a way in the wilderness

  
   and streams in the wasteland.  (Isaiah 43:19)

God’s ongoing work of renewal calls for our ongoing work of conversion.  Each day is an opportunity to embrace the “new thing” that God is always doing.    Seasons come and seasons go, but each season is new, and with God, all things are made new.

God’s doing a new thing.  Are you ready?

About chris breuninger

I love life, my family, and Jesus. I enjoy live music, rigorous exercise, thoughtful movies, and strong coffee. I study scripture, wine, and people. I get frustrated with narrow minds, Christian stereotypes, and gardening. My vocation is pastor, but I’m hesitant to admit that, and I’m happy when people are surprised by that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.