A Better Labor

Over the past two weeks my family took in the majestic sights of mountains and sea.   We traveled to Yosemite (our first visit) and we marveled at the giant Sequoias in old-growth forests.  We hiked beside massive granite walls.  We played games and laughed together.  From there, we traveled to Sea Ranch on the North Sonoma Coast.  it was the first time all our family had been together for eight months, and it was wonderful.

Now I’m back in the saddle at Redwood Covenant, gearing up for fall ministries.  I’m very excited about the men’s Ministry I’ll be leading, the new Women’s Ministry we are beginning and the growing momentum at Redwood Covenant.

Vacation mode is a slow mode for me, and coming back into a vibrant church with lots of movement and activity is both exhilarating and tiring, especially when coming off a two-week vacation.  Like the Tin Man, I felt a bit rusty.  I’m finally getting my sea-legs back.

It’s been said that most Americans work to rest.  The work piles up, the work-weeks cascade, and by the end, many go into their time-off exhausted.  But the invitation we hear in the Bible is not work to rest, but to rest to work.

Taking time to stop to take-in creation, worship the Creator, and to connect with friends and family should not a relief-effort for the burned-out, but should be a renewal-movement for those who seek to live into the rhythms that God has wired into creation (can you say “Sabbath”?)

On this Labor Day weekend, full of picnics, gatherings and travel, take some time to listen to Jesus, who said…

 “Are you tired? Worn out? Burned out on religion? Come to me. Get away with me and you’ll recover your life. I’ll show you how to take a real rest. Walk with me and work with me—watch how I do it. Learn the unforced rhythms of grace. I won’t lay anything heavy or ill-fitting on you. Keep company with me and you’ll learn to live freely and lightly.”  (Matthew 11:28-30 | The Message)

May the labor of your life become more free and more light as you learn from Jesus the unforced rhythms of grace!

About chris breuninger

I love life, my family, and Jesus. I enjoy live music, rigorous exercise, thoughtful movies, and strong coffee. I study scripture, wine, and people. I get frustrated with narrow minds, Christian stereotypes, and gardening. My vocation is pastor, but I’m hesitant to admit that, and I’m happy when people are surprised by that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Better Labor

  1. Jane Bailey says:

    Ah Chris. Your words bless me, validate my feelings of fatigue, and encourage me to rest a bit before the busyness of fall, harvest and holidays are upon us. It IS a new season for us and RCC, and God needs rested workers for the work He has before us!! So glad to hear you’re enjoying THE BEST STATE in the union! We have it all! Glad to have you and Amy back! We missed you!

  2. Vonnie Lee says:

    I’m drinking in those wowrds! Now for a little book of instructions.

  3. Vonnie Lee says:

    I’m drinking in these words…now for a little book of instructions!

Comments are closed.