Wisdom from Wonderland #3: In Thy light we see

I snapped this picture because I was captivated by sunlight filtering though the trees, surrounding my friend, Jan as he was setting up camp.  That’s what light does: it captivates.

Light draws your attention like a moth to TV.  Light creates shadow-play like a film noir mystery.  Light dispels darkness like a Rembrandt painting.

Light also discloses what is always there, but hidden, just out of sight.

For the past two weeks I’ve been enjoying the light-plays in Yosemite and on the North Coast of California.  As I write this blog, the maritime fog is rolling onto the coast like a massive down blanket.  The fog seems to both shield and refract light, creating a more subdued, almost melancholic softness light that I find inspirational.

When Jesus is announced in the Gospel of John he is called the light of life and the light of the world.  Think about it: the light of life and the light of the world.  It’s like John compresses creation with redemption in a mash of metaphors.  Just consider how John connects the light and life and Jesus in this sweeping statement:

Everything was created through him;
nothing—not one thing!— came into being without him.
What came into existence was Life,
and the Life was Light to live by.
The Life-Light blazed out of the darkness;
the darkness couldn’t put it out.

John 1:3-5 (The Message)

There is much that can be said about this inspired identity of Jesus, but I’ll just say this: All we see is not all there is, but there is a way to see.  In and by and through the light of Christ we can see anew.

Jesus dispels the darkness and Jesus heals the blind, healing even those who think they see.

How’s your sight?

About chris breuninger

I love life, my family, and Jesus. I enjoy live music, rigorous exercise, thoughtful movies, and strong coffee. I study scripture, wine, and people. I get frustrated with narrow minds, Christian stereotypes, and gardening. My vocation is pastor, but I’m hesitant to admit that, and I’m happy when people are surprised by that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Wisdom from Wonderland #3: In Thy light we see

  1. Joan says:

    What I love about the light the most is that the closer one is to it, the easier it is to see. When we are far away from Jesus, the one true Light, things are confusing and out of focus. Even hearing someone speak about God can not always make sense. But, as we draw nearer to Him (and He to us), our hearts will open to His light and all will become clearer and clearer. Soooo, bring on the light!

Comments are closed.