Wisdom from Wonderland #2: Hidden Wholeness

“There is a hidden wholeness in all things visible.” 

~ Thomas Merton~

Contemplation is a type of christian prayer based less on words and more on awareness.  Contemplation happens for me when I read Scripture and a word or phrase captures my attention.  If I’m awake to that clue, I’ll stop reading long enough to chew on the imagery, meaning and significance, allowing God to speak.

Contemplative prayer is responsive speech–its answering God and responding to the prompting of the Spirit as much or more than asking God a favor.

Nature also captures my attention.  In nature, I slow down enough to see the intricacies and visible design of nature that reflects the Creator.  Take a second look at the photo I shot on the Wonderland Trial.  What hidden wholeness do you see?

Jesus spoke of our eyes as “windows to the soul.”  Jesus opened the eyes of the blind, and he still does that miracle, both literally and figuratively.  The Apostle Paul prayed for the fellowship gathered in Ephesus that God would enlighten the “eyes of your heart.”   And when God sent Paul on his missionary adventure it was “to open the eyes of the blind.”  God loves to speak, and sometimes his speaking happens though the eye-gate to our soul.

May your eyes be enlightened to see what God is saying to you.

About chris breuninger

I love life, my family, and Jesus. I enjoy live music, rigorous exercise, thoughtful movies, and strong coffee. I study scripture, wine, and people. I get frustrated with narrow minds, Christian stereotypes, and gardening. My vocation is pastor, but I’m hesitant to admit that, and I’m happy when people are surprised by that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Wisdom from Wonderland #2: Hidden Wholeness

  1. notyethopeful says:

    It heartens me to see you write about contemplative prayer. It seems that many of my Christian friends feel it is somehow a bad or evil thing. Like you, I sometimes like to ponder a word or phrase from scripture. I generally find it hard to “listen” for God’s words; my mind is too crowded. But some of the more contemplative practices have helped. I believe it coincides with what educators call our learning styles. Some of us learn by seeing, some by doing, and some by listening. We should leave room for others to learn, and to feel God’s presence, in their own way.
    Thank you for sharing…

  2. Karen Titoni says:

    Awesome, thank you for once again reminding us of the eyes of the heart. The first sermon you preached, for us, I believe, involved the eyes of the heart. My heart was broken that morning and your sermon aided in the healing process.

  3. The contemplative life–living from the Center… from the inside out rather than from the outside in. Beautiful ponderings…

Comments are closed.