Breaking Away

Life, it’s said, is one thing after the other.  Ministry can be like that also.  Fredrick Buechner described the pace of Sundays “like traveling past telephone poles on a fast-moving train.”  The relentless pace of life and ministry calls for times to breakaway so you don’t come apart.

This week I’ve jumped off the train for a time of reflection, prayer and preparation.  I do this once a year, and the fruit of this time away will be a message-schedule for the next twelve months.

I’m in Redding CA, where the temperature climbs to 100 by noon, so if you’re going to play outdoors, you better do it before 10am or after 8pm.  Midday, after the asphalt absorbs the heat, it feels like you are walking in a frying pan.  The scorching sun suggests images of hell, which gives my planning a bit of urgency, if not inspiration.

I’m grateful for Redwood Covenant Church for their encouragement to take this time away.   Ministry is hard work, and a weary minister is not much help to his or her church.  Breaking away is vital for renewal and for vision—it helps us see things anew.

If you think of it, please pray for me this week and next.  Join me in asking God for His inspiration, revelation, and wisdom for the church.  Ask God to speak to me (I’m listening).  And give thanks with me for the wonderful gift of air conditioning.

About chris breuninger

I love life, my family, and Jesus. I enjoy live music, rigorous exercise, thoughtful movies, and strong coffee. I study scripture, wine, and people. I get frustrated with narrow minds, Christian stereotypes, and gardening. My vocation is pastor, but I’m hesitant to admit that, and I’m happy when people are surprised by that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Breaking Away

  1. Joan Davis says:

    Enjoy your time away! You are right – it is important to take time to reflect, plan and become refreshed! While you are in Redding, head on over to Jack’s Bar & Grill. It doesn’t look like much from the outside (seriously!!) and some lighting inside might be nice, however, they have the best steaks around. In fact, they rival Ruth Chris! (http://www.jacksgrillredding.com/)

    I’m joining you in thanking God for air conditioning…and restful times away! I’m happy to pray for you while you expectantly listen for His voice.

    Blessing, Joan

Comments are closed.