Dislocation and it’s Contents

Yesterday, Amy and I closed the sale of our home in Seattle.  It took six months, three price adjustments and a lot of prayer, and now it’s sold.  For a brief moment, we are entirely debt free, but that won’t last for long.  We’re eagerly looking at homes, and we look forward to settling into a new home.  If you’ve been praying, thank you!  If you remember us, then please pray for just the right home for life, ministry and hospitality.

Speaking of getting settled, my books—twenty-two boxes of them— are now finding their home on new shelves that were just completed in my office.  Stacking them in their places makes me glad to see those familiar friends that have shaped my mind and heart.  And dragging the weight of those boxes into my office makes me glad that I sold thirty-five boxes of books before we moved.  It was hard to sell those books, but now, having the best of the bunch surrounding me, I’m beginning to feel at home.

I don’t often think about Jesus being homeless, but he was.  When a would-be disciple asked Jesus whether he might first attend to family business before attending to the business of following Jesus, Jesus responded by saying: “Foxes have holes, and birds have nests, but the son of man has no place to lay his head.”  Even animals have homes, but Jesus was without a place to call home.

I don’t think about Jesus being homeless because he seemed at home in the world.  And maybe that’s what God is teaching me in my transition.  Houses come and go, and so do books, but some things remain.  Like the Word of God, and faith, hope, and love.  And centering on those things helps me feel settled, even when I’m living out of boxes.

About chris breuninger

I love life, my family, and Jesus. I enjoy live music, rigorous exercise, thoughtful movies, and strong coffee. I study scripture, wine, and people. I get frustrated with narrow minds, Christian stereotypes, and gardening. My vocation is pastor, but I’m hesitant to admit that, and I’m happy when people are surprised by that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Dislocation and it’s Contents

  1. Carolyn says:

    PTL He answers prayer – and they continue for your new Santa Rosa home 🙂

  2. Rhonda Harlin says:

    Thank you for sharing your heart and your journey!

  3. cameravideocamera says:

    Jesus love you.

  4. Doug Richardson says:

    I had to laugh when I read this because I just posted an article called Awake to Relocation on Facebook. I like what Nouwen observes about “aloneness” (which is an aspect of dislocation I think). He says, we get to choose whether our aloneness leads us to loneliness (which brings pain) or solitude (which brings peace). Jesus obviously, opted for the latter of these two and invites into His experience of living fully!

  5. Joan Davis says:

    Congratulations on the sale of your home! I know waiting for that to happen can be a stressful time –What am I saying…”can be”?? It always is! 🙂 I’ll be praying that God will bring just the right home for you and Amy that will meet your needs and also your wish list! Also, I’m so glad you are settling in and feeling at home.
    Blessings, Joan

  6. Karen DuCharme Weber says:

    (DuCharme Weber) Congratulations on selling your house! *\o/* yippee!!! Praying for your next one. I really appreciated your comment on your books! I can relate to moving that many, and the treasures that they are!!! (I’m going to show it to my new husband- who also has a lot of them -though only about a 1/3 of what I have!!!) They are what have helped to mold and shape us. 🙂

Comments are closed.