LIfe after Life

In the forty days after Jesus was raised from the dead, he appeared to over forty different persons in a variety of settings.  He ate fish on a beach with his disciples, spoke words of peace to anxious followers, and he even allowed a skeptic to touch the wounds in his side.

This forty-day period, called “Eastertide”  is not not as well-known as Easter.  No chocolate eggs found or eaten.  Families don’t gather for meals because of it.  But it’s just as important.

Eastertide is a season to recognize how Jesus meets us in the midst of our life in surprising ways.  It’s a time to celebrate his coordination at the right hand of his Heavenly Father.  And it’s a time to wait and pray for the Spirit that comes at Pentecost.

On Easter, Redwood Covenant participated in an epic celebration of song, video, testimony, dance and proclamation.  It was like a rich fare of fine food, and I was overjoyed by the celebration of life that Jesus makes possible.

Now comes Eastertide.  And at Redwood Covenant, our Eastertide will focus on Family Matters.  Not just Family Matters for those who are married with kids, but God’s big plan that includes every family, but it goes beyond any family.  If you’re in the area, I invite you to worship at Redwood.  After all, every Sunday is Easter for Christians.  And every day is an opportunity to live into the life Jesus invites us to receive and pursue.

About chris breuninger

I love life, my family, and Jesus. I enjoy live music, rigorous exercise, thoughtful movies, and strong coffee. I study scripture, wine, and people. I get frustrated with narrow minds, Christian stereotypes, and gardening. My vocation is pastor, but I’m hesitant to admit that, and I’m happy when people are surprised by that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.