Why I don’t like (but need) Good Friday

I don’t particularly like Good Friday worship services.  They make me uncomfortable, introspective and they can seem a bit morose.  I’d rather just skip straight to the Easter celebration.  After all, wouldn’t you rather go to a party than an execution?

But Redwood Covenant has wisely chosen to offer a Good Friday ‘journey to the cross” service, and I’m glad they did.  Some churches skip it, in favor of offering more Easter services.  But I think that misses something important.  If you’re going to follow Jesus, you can’t get to the celebration of “he is risen” without traveling to the cross.

Luther called this a “theology of the cross.”   And his reading of Scripture let him to conclude that a theology that bypasses the cross is a truncated theology.  And truncated theologies, while easier to swallow, make truncated Christians.

I don’t like the cross, but I need the cross.  And I need to travel to the cross of Christ to fully appreciate the depth of God’s love given in Jesus.  I also need to travel to the cross to appropriate the depth of the Easter celebration.  When I bypass the cross, I miss out.  I can kiss my wife with cellophane between our lips, but it’s just not the same.  OK, maybe that’s not the best illustration, but you get the point.

I invite you to join me for a reflective meditation on God’s amazing act of sacrificial love this Good Friday.  Join me at the cross.  Then, two-days later, let the celebration begin.

About chris breuninger

I love life, my family, and Jesus. I enjoy live music, rigorous exercise, thoughtful movies, and strong coffee. I study scripture, wine, and people. I get frustrated with narrow minds, Christian stereotypes, and gardening. My vocation is pastor, but I’m hesitant to admit that, and I’m happy when people are surprised by that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Why I don’t like (but need) Good Friday

  1. grec says:

    excellent point, chris. that’s a shortcut i’m also tempted to take. thankfully age and experience keep landing me where nails are being pounded and scars are being formed long before it ever affords me the chance to go to a party.

    but when it does finally relent, OH WHAT A PARTY!

    thanks for the reminder.

  2. Douglas Richardson says:

    Death precedes life? Life precedes death? Yes and Yes. I’m experiencing both at the same time…go figure! I’m loving every day of my life and yes, I’m on my way to death AND I’m experiencing “death” in certain aspects of my life AND I’m on my way to life. Living makes way for dying and dying makes way for living. Good to know that Jesus is with me in life and death. There’s no gettin away from Him! Who would want to?

Comments are closed.