Vision Night

I find it wonderfully amazing when God prompts people to converge for purposes larger that either of them know.  I am experiencing this as I live into my new call as a pastor of a church in Santa Rosa.  As I look back on my experiences and the experiences of the church, I am beginning to see a wonderful convergence that began years ago.

It’s a long story than a blog post can’t contain, but I’ll give you the short version.  Over the years, God has impressed upon me the need for the church to serve not only those who gather for worship, but to serve those in the wider community who don’t.  But I also came to see that unless people are being formed spiritually as disciples who are learning to follow Jesus, then all that work beyond the walls is a recipe for burnout.

My current church has a huge heart for reaching out, but it does not have many ways for adults to grow as disciples beyond Sunday.  They’ve done a bang-up job with kids and students and the worship is highly inspirational.  But they yearn to find ways to reach the wider community and to grow as disciples.  Often these are seen as separate, but I don’t think they need to be.

On Sunday night I’ll share more about this with my church.  It’s called “Vision Night” and I’ll share my discernment of an emerging vision for our life together.  I’m both excited and a bit intimidated.  It’s a big vision.  And it will take years to unfold–it’s not another “program of the month.”  But should we move in the direction that God seems to be unveiling, then  it will be deeply transforming.

The apostle Paul writes “God causes everything to work together for the good of those who love God and are called according to his purpose for them.”

It’s that convergence between God and those who love God that is wonderfully amazing and encouraging to me.

About chris breuninger

I love life, my family, and Jesus. I enjoy live music, rigorous exercise, thoughtful movies, and strong coffee. I study scripture, wine, and people. I get frustrated with narrow minds, Christian stereotypes, and gardening. My vocation is pastor, but I’m hesitant to admit that, and I’m happy when people are surprised by that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Vision Night

  1. Rhonda says:

    I am excited to see and participate in what God is unfolding. Thank you Chris for your willingness to be open to God’s leading. I didn’t think we would be able to be there but now know that we will. See you Sunday night!

  2. Joan says:

    My husband and I are fairly new to Redwood Covenant Church, but we have already experienced such a friendly welcome! The warmth of the people leads me to believe that they have a heart for Jesus and serving Him. This Sunday at Vision Night we are looking forward to hearing what will be shared regarding the vision for the church. When we follow God and move in His direction, it is always transforming! So whether His plan takes “years to unfold” or happens in a different time frame, we can be sure that He will bring everything together in His perfect timing…and along the way, if we’re willing to be His hands and feet, He’ll use His people to make a real difference in our community and world.

  3. The audio of my presentation and the slides for that presentation should be on the RCC website today.

    • Judy Arrow says:

      Chris and all,

      I am off this week and just spent the last hour listening to the Vision Night and watching the the slide show- Wonderful vision and thought. It is such a big idea and seeing it in print and listening to the passion in your voice puts the ideas on notice… We can! “It” all starts with a B.H.A.G. (very cool) I will be in contact to throw my many hats into the ring- God has a plan and we are all a part of it.

      May God guide us well and pick us up when we are tired,
      Judy

Comments are closed.