Monday thoughts about Sunday

I work with a talented musician, a skilled vocalist, and a gifted worship pastor.  Tougher we plan worship, and sometimes the plan is bigger than either of us imagined.

Here’s how it works.  I plan the message series, and he plans worship elements that will lift us to worship.  It may sound simple, but it’s not.  It takes foresight, planning, sensitivity to the Spirit, awareness of the congregation, and the ability to work with a host of passionate and gifted volunteers.

Anyway, we plan, but we cannot plan for the most important elements.  For instance, we can’t plan for how God will inspire, convict or speak though music, art, or his living Word.

For instance, I’ve long since given up trying to predict how the message will speak to people.  I can’t, and that’s a good thing, because it keeps me dependent on God, humble about my limitations.  And it keeps me amazed when God weaves our plans in ways we never imagined.  And I like to be amazed.

That happened on Sunday as the message and the music came together in ways I never planed, and how God used those elements to speak to people in ways we never imagined.  I like it when God takes what we offer and makes it better than I ever imagined.

Inspiration is a word that literally means “breathed upon.”  The breath of God that infuses wisdom and revelation before consciousness and beyond skill is the stuff of poets, artists, and prophets.  It is the work of the Spirit.  And yesterday that wind blew.  It’s nice to be sailing.

About chris breuninger

I love life, my family, and Jesus. I enjoy live music, rigorous exercise, thoughtful movies, and strong coffee. I study scripture, wine, and people. I get frustrated with narrow minds, Christian stereotypes, and gardening. My vocation is pastor, but I’m hesitant to admit that, and I’m happy when people are surprised by that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Monday thoughts about Sunday

  1. Gail Bierman says:

    I would wholeheatedly agree!! My husband and I always discuss our “feelings” about the service on our way home. This Sunday the comments ran in the area of THE BEST SERVICE EVER. I was moved to dance by the wonderful music before service (let us have more of that!!) and moved to tears by the teaching and closing songs and all I can say is I’m very glad I was there, that I am here, and that He is with us always!!

  2. karen titoni says:

    That was the most awesome service I’d been in in a long time. Thank you for your tender spirit that listens to God and delivers HIS message to us. I still remember the first sermon about “The eyes of our heart” because that morning on the way to church I admitted to myself that my heart was broken. Issues with our gunstore business had taken their toll on me. That sermon is still touching my”HEART”. God bless you Chris and your family.

  3. Jane Bailey says:

    We are indeed a blessed people! May we be faithful to respond to the Holy Spirit, obey and move as He moves, and in turn be used by the Holy Spirit to inspire those around us. We anticipate great things changing in our hearts and lives, as we fine-tune our hearing ears! Our prayers continue ferverently each week!

  4. Barb says:

    what you speak of here is exactly what draws me to this church, that combination of God’s breath, the word, the music, the talents of individuals, it truly is amazing. It is what I ponder over the week sometimes and the inspiration keeps me going, keeps me worshiping Him. Thank you RCC for carrying me thru difficult times.

  5. People have no idea how long it takes to prepare or how much energy it takes to deliver. I’m exhausted after each Sunday. Is it that hard at Harper?

Comments are closed.