Surprised by Joy

I was bracing myself for my first annual meeting with my new church.  Annual meetings in the past had not been pretty.  But what I experienced caught me off guard.  What surprised me was a predominate spirit of joy and hope.  But that spirit should not surprise me.

Joy and hope were dominant notes in the early church.  Those notes sounded loud in a culture where religion was marked by determined destiny and stoic spirituality.   They rang out with clarion clarity, cutting through the despair, sadness and pessimism that marked first century religious options.   In fact, the Greek word for joy (chara) is absent from writings in the ancient world.  That is until Christians wrote about what they experienced.

Those first followers of Jesus permeated joy.  Their message began with “good tidings of great joy.”  They experienced it when Jesus bid his disciples farewell, promising his peace and full joy.   “I have spoken these things” said Jesus,  “so that my joy may be in in you, and that your joy may be made full.”

Joy is tricky to track.  Joy is not always apparent.  It is easily missed, especially when we hurt.  Joy does not happen because of the absence of hardship, or by denying hard realities, or by a fake smile that covers real sadness.  Joy happens in spite of all that.  Joy is a higher reality that Jesus began and that his followers in all times have experienced and proclaimed.

And the good news is that no matter what your circumstance, no mater what your history, you can, as CS Lewis discovered, be “surprised by joy.”  It happens when our pain meets God’s joy, just like the psalmist expressed: “You turned my morning into dancing; you removed my sackcloth and clothed me with joy.”  (Psalm 30:11).

Richard Rohr writes that “pain that is not transformed will be transmitted.”    The hurts we have experienced will hurt others unless they are transformed by the healing hope and joy found in God’s presence.  And because God is always present, joy can be chosen.  Frankly, nothing less will do.

Leonard Sweet, in his recent, excellent book, “Nudge: Awakening Each Other to the God who is Already There” writes that people who have experienced God’s joy and hope are “looking less for an emotion that is based on an earthy, human foundation than a joy beyond the natural joys that come from friends and food, from beauty and beer, from dancing and drama.  Beyond all those pleasures there is a joy free from the cages of circumstance, or morality, of control, of individual fate.”

Last week I shared the joy and hope of a community rising.  It surprised me in a good, hopeful way, but I should not be surprised.  Joy is one of God’s great attributes.  God exists in great joy.  Jesus calls us into his joy.  And the Spirit brings joy.   And I think I just heard an echo of God’s joy among those with ears to hear, and it felt freeing.

About chris breuninger

I love life, my family, and Jesus. I enjoy live music, rigorous exercise, thoughtful movies, and strong coffee. I study scripture, wine, and people. I get frustrated with narrow minds, Christian stereotypes, and gardening. My vocation is pastor, but I’m hesitant to admit that, and I’m happy when people are surprised by that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Surprised by Joy

  1. Doug Richardson says:

    Joy does surprise me AND there is another surprise about joy …that is it can be chosen. Here is one of my favorite Nouwen quotes about joy and choosing: “There are always sorrowful and joyful sides to the reality we live. And so we always have a choice to live the moment as a cause for resentment or as a cause for joy. It is in the choice that our true freedom lies, and that freedom is, in the final analysis, the freedom to love…It is important to become aware that at every moment of our life we have an opportunity to choose joy.”

    • Patrick says:

      The only Nouwen book I remember well was on communion and it was written late in his life when he was retired and serving the severely handicapped. I was amazed at his capacity for joy, possibly for choosing joy, in weeping with someone deeply in sorrow for how their bodies were failing them.

  2. Patrick says:

    Chris,

    Thanks for sharing your joy and the idea of choosing joy. I’m not sure how exactly this relates to your post, but I’d still appreciate your input. I’ve always been taken by Lewis’ definition of joy (I can’t find the book since my kids love to pull my books off my shelf), but the idea was that “joy” was that moment of intense awareness (insert longing, elation, belonging, peace, etc.) that just when you thought you could grab onto it, it would be gone, having slipped right through your fingers. Does this ring a bell? Do you think it relates at all?

    • Yes, I identify with Lewis’ description of the fleeting nature of joy. I like the way he describes it in his autobiography and in his fiction, like when Ransom tastes the fruit of Paralandria and with each bit the joy diminishes. I think Lewis saw joy as a sign, ment to direct us to God, and when we stay fixed on the object we miss true joy.

      • Patrick says:

        Thanks. I really like the idea of joy being a sign that’s not meant to distract us. Thanks again.

Comments are closed.