Good day

My day began terribly.  A false accusation of a friend went viral.  It was a painful illustration of how the Internet can be a viral network for gossip. The Internet helps us connect, but it can also amplify vice.

Later that day I golfed for the first time in months with a friend who shared with me his journey of vocational transition into a whole new chapter of ministry.  As much game was up and down, his story inspired me.

Later that evening I met with a group.  The host spoke about an epiphany, where he heard and felt the happy affirmation of his Heavenly Father to the steps of trust he was taking.  He spoke about how this process of transformation is shifting his business to measure success by how much the business gives away.

What struck me about my encounters was the alignment my friends were experiencing.  In response to God’s invitation to step out and trust the provision and the guiding of God, those men put their career and their finances on the line.   Each one is learning to trust God, and each one is undergoing a faith deepening process.  And God was proving himself faithful, even happy with the steps his children were taking.

Maybe the best transitions are those that respond to God’s call, step out in trust, and align their lives with God’s invitation.  Maybe that’s what the Apostle Paul was talking about when he wrote:

Take your everyday, ordinary life—your sleeping, eating, going-to-work, and walking-around life—and place it before God as an offering. Embracing what God does for you is the best thing you can do for him…. fix your attention on God. You’ll be changed from the inside out. Readily recognize what he wants from you, and quickly respond to it.  (Romans 12:1a, 2b)

My day started terribly.  But thanks to the witness of friends who fixed their attention on God, recognized God’s invitation, and responded to it, my day ended inspired.  Now that’s a good day.

About chris breuninger

I love life, my family, and Jesus. I enjoy live music, rigorous exercise, thoughtful movies, and strong coffee. I study scripture, wine, and people. I get frustrated with narrow minds, Christian stereotypes, and gardening. My vocation is pastor, but I’m hesitant to admit that, and I’m happy when people are surprised by that.
This entry was posted in Culture, Discipleship, Friends, Technology, Theology, Transition. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Good day

  1. Douglas Richardson says:

    I have been considering lately how much time I put into trying to control my world (all the time believing that “God is in control of everything). Hmmm…although I know in the big picture He is in control of everything…I also know in another respect He is only in control of what I invite Him into…or another way of saying it would be …me entering into to what He is doing in the world. He is always inviting me into what He is up to…

  2. Patrick says:

    Chris,

    I have been pondering your sermon last Sunday, specifically what areas God may be pruning and whether I trust him to do.

    However, I am experiencing a lot of relative stability in my life that wasn’t there even a year back. This is causing me to look even deeper.

    What I see in the deeper places is a renewed desire to abide, to find nourishment from the vine. I see so many things that I turn to for nourishment that must be pruned.

    What I hear in your friends lives is the kind of abiding I desire.

    • Patrick;

      The desire you have to abide is your response to what God has cultivated in your life. That your are listening to this prayer of Jesus for you, and that your are leaning into it is the best thing you can do.

      Be at peace in Christ,
      Pastor Chris

  3. I love what you said about your worst days were made possible by your worst day. That’s a profound statement of God’s grace. Nice.

Comments are closed.