Future Sermon Series

Fredrick Buechner once wrote, “Sundays come at the pastor like telephone poles on a fast-moving train.”  The relentless pace of ministry demands that I step back from time to time for perspective, planning and prayer.  This week is one of those weeks.

For the next few days I am hibernating at home for a study-leave to map out sermon series for the next few months.  My goal is to create a balanced diet of messages that are biblically based and applicable to life.  The trick is to keep it balanced.

A balanced diet of sermons will include passages from the Old Testament and the New Testament.  Sometimes a series will offer topical treatment from the Bible.  At other times a series will offer a verse-by-verse treatment of a book in God’s Word.  Preachers tend to gravitate toward either topical or verse-by-verse, but I think a healthy diet includes both.

A balanced diet will keep an eye to the seasons of the year (fall, Christmas, the new year, Easter, etc.).  And, it will offer nourishment to a variety of ages at a variety of levels of spiritual maturity and understanding.  Like I said, this is no easy trick.  And that’s why it’s important for me to get away to map out sermon series for the upcoming year, as I am doing this week.

Please pray for me this week, if you are so inclined.  Join me in asking God for wisdom and inspiration, so the church might be built up in maturity, faith, love and hope.

About chris breuninger

I love life, my family, and Jesus. I enjoy live music, rigorous exercise, thoughtful movies, and strong coffee. I study scripture, wine, and people. I get frustrated with narrow minds, Christian stereotypes, and gardening. My vocation is pastor, but I’m hesitant to admit that, and I’m happy when people are surprised by that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Future Sermon Series

  1. Doug Richardson says:

    Praying for you, along with many others in our church family..I’m sure. You’re a great cook in the pulpit and the kitchen!

  2. penny knicely says:

    I always pray for you and the other ministry leaders of the world that God will give all of you the ability to HEAR only His words and His wisdom for the sermans. He gives me peace that He is doing this. God Bless you and your family.

  3. Linda Marie Paterson says:

    Thank you, Pastor Chris, for openly sharing your shepherd’s heart for the flock and how to care for them. There are a variety of ages and faith journeys at RCC. I really appreciate your willingness and desire to minister and welcome all. That makes for a healthy church. May God bless you and your loved ones.

Comments are closed.